Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

SIGERSHADERS V-Ray Material Presets Pro 4.1.6 for 3ds Max

Discussion in '3DsMax' started by VIPGFX, Mar 16, 2017.

  1. fizzymon_aska

    fizzymon_aska Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Greeting!
    Do you mind show me how to set it to Windows 7? i am using it for 3Ds Max 2015 ver
     
  2. BlackHand

    BlackHand Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    10
    First of all, go to the installation file, right-click on it and open "properties" then:

    1- Go to "Compatibility" tab.
    2- Click on the checkbox on the left of "Run this program in compatibility mode for:"
    3- From the list select "Windows7"
    4- Apply.
    * I've prepared a picture to show but I couldn't figure how to upload it here!


    now the compatibility is set to Windows 7. All you have to do now is to run the installation.
    * you have to keep in mind that you have to run the installation in "administrator" mode. to do so, right click on the installation file and from the list, click on "Run as administrator". should be among the first 3 items on the list from the top.

    ** if you didn't run the installation as administrator the first time when you got the problem, then try again by run it as administrator before you change the compatibility. it could be the cause of the problem.

    Good luck :)
     
    fizzymon_aska likes this.
  3. fizzymon_aska

    fizzymon_aska Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi BlackHand

    thank you so much for your detailed instruction. it is now working on window 7 inside 3dsmax 2015, many thanks to you.
    have a good day(rock)
     
    BlackHand likes this.
  4. BlackHand

    BlackHand Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    10
    Glad I could help. best of luck with your works (y)
     
  5. lwjacob

    lwjacob New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Texture links are down. Anyone knows where to find them?
     
  6. sandz

    sandz New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot for the torrent links. Very usefull stuff
     
  7. femi

    femi New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't download! Keeps stopping
     
  8. Andy47

    Andy47 Well-Known Member
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    228
    While it is very true that compression of images, doesn't save ram, nor does it make renders faster, in fact quite the opposite.... I don't see any reason to use textures at 4k and even less reason to use textures at 8k.. Texture resolution, should never be higher than output resolution of the scene you are rendering, it's a TOTAL waste of time...In fact I would say using textures at even half output resolution is madmess. There would be no benefit to it. A 4K image is supposed to be viewed at 4K, anything smaller and the quality drops off. Even common sense should tell you, that if you have a monitor of say 1920x1080 and you render an image at 4K, you will never be able to view that image at it's full resolution 3480 × 2160, without having to scroll around.. so if you use say 20 or more 4K textures for a particular scene, which you then render at 4K, you can see that every one of them has had to be reduced in size, therefore reducing the quality (try it in Photoshop), since none of them, will be filling the screen in that render.. For the majority of arch viz for example, 2K is high enough and even then it's over kill for much of time. Since smaller (but seamless) textures can handle the job. It's qulity of image, more than resolution that counts

    It's like watching a UHD 4K movie on a smartphone. Yeah it's watchable, but what a waste of resolution.

    Then again if your images are going to end up being printed full scale or larger and/or you need to render them at many times higher than 4K resolution, then sure, such large textures would be great.. other than that, IMHO they are a pointless waste of space.
     
  9. atyp364

    atyp364 New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone,
    Please tell me what I have wrong settings - I can not see the texture on the mapped model when mapping so I can not customize the mapping ... Everything is shown in the picture.
    It is 3dsMax2017, Vray 3.50.04 - Distributed rendering with 2 computers.
    If I do "my" Vray material, I can see the texture, but if I use the SIGERSHADERS V-Ray Material Presets Pro 4.1.6, it makes me do not see the mapping. But I'm getting it right! Is it a route setup?
    Do not know where is the error? I've been using Max for about 10 years, but I did not get the mistake here
    Thank you very much for any advice !! Atyp

    https://forum.********.com/ This image has been resized. Click this bar to view the full image. The original image is sized 1280x773.
    [​IMG]


    https://forum.********.com/ This image has been resized. Click this bar to view the full image. The original image is sized 1280x773.
    [​IMG]
     
  10. BlackHand

    BlackHand Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hi, I hope this will solve ur problem. I verified it on my PC b4 I post.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    after u click as in step 6, the mapping should be showing on the viewport. if it doesn't, just play with the "show..." button till is shows.

    Good luck
     
  11. _Sting_ray_

    _Sting_ray_ Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    25
    also .....
    usually the size of the texture map depend on how close are you to the camera .

    if you're far from the camera , even a 512 pixel texture map will be perfect .

    in other hand .......

    if it's a close up shoot for a character for example .....
    a multi sub material will be required , and then the high resolution texture map will be a must !
     
  12. Andy47

    Andy47 Well-Known Member
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    228
    I don't do characters and I rarely need such extreme close ups. I am exclusively Arch Viz exteriors/interiors and the need for such extreme textures is frankly wasted. but yes, there are those that need extreme close ups.. and such high res textures will be very useful. However, in your example of character close ups, VMPP is not really that useful, it's aimed more at the Arch viz types , than characters designers
     
  13. andrei.theodor99

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dosen't works with 3.6,right? Thats why i've got an error ,something about the file that i copied in assembly folder.
     
  14. BlackHand

    BlackHand Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    10
    I'm using 3.6 and it's working fine.
     
  15. Casper1313

    Casper1313 Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    It works with 3.6. Have done release with v-ray on russian tracker, so checked it. All of plugins works: solidrocks, forest pack, sigershaders...
     
  16. andrei.theodor99

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the answers. I installed yesterday the one from rutracker, and dosen`t work. Can you give me the torrent`s link? I tried to search a few minutes ago and found nothing. So strange..
     
  17. Casper1313

    Casper1313 Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    andrei.theodor99
    nnm-club.name
    If you used rutracker, seems that you know Russian a bit and can use entire search system. Just type Sigershaders there...
     
  18. Andy47

    Andy47 Well-Known Member
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    228
    we do not post links to torrents, other than those on GFXPeers, which is down at the moment, so how you searched for it, who knows. Also since GFXPeers is ( temporarily) offline, the torrent link from GFXPeers cannot be displayed.
     
  19. andrei.theodor99

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I understand,yeah i used rutracker, and i downloaded yesterday the vray preset 4.1.6 from there installed it and dosent work. Now,i deleted from my pc,plus the torrent. I will try tommorow to reinstall it and show you guys the error, maybe you can help me solving it.
    Thank you
     
  20. andrei.theodor99

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is working!
     
    BlackHand likes this.