Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Bitmap not showing in material preview slot

Discussion in 'Help' started by omareon, Feb 6, 2020.

  1. omareon

    omareon New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey, I recently stat to use 3ds max 2018 with Vray 3.6 and I tried also another version of Vray and I still have the same problem .. I can't see any bitmap I chose on material preview so I cant see if I add bump or anything.

    I searched a lot but nobody mention this problem, I tried to reset 3d max setting ...


    [​IMG]
     
  2. Andy47

    Andy47 Well-Known Member
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3,282
    Likes Received:
    531
    Have you set the render engine to V-Ray, had to ask....
     
    brainsgonedead2000 likes this.
  3. brainsgonedead2000

    brainsgonedead2000 Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    2,029
    Likes Received:
    1,814
    As Andy says black slots means you haven't chosen Vray as your renderer in the render settings. Happened to me when I started usibg Mental Ray for the 1st time as I was loading scenes but using scanline.

    Also to reset 3D Max properpy delete the .ini file inside the 3d max data folder. I think it is the roaming folder. Not home so forget.
     
  4. slayer666

    slayer666 New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    appdata local 3ds max 3ds max.ini delete