Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

  1. We need to collect last month donation for our Servers,

    Click this link and Help Us:http://forum.gfxdomain.net/donate/

    If we help in yours works or study , please spend some money for us to pay ours servers

Small Render Farm

Discussion in 'The CG Shop' started by alpha007, Jan 26, 2013.

  1. alpha007

    alpha007 Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Andy47 yes, u need to provide plugin
     
  2. perineo

    perineo New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    BAM! tyvm please update us with more info asap :)
     
  3. Vertune

    Vertune New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure. I am more interested in continuing cooperation :)
     
  4. odoss

    odoss Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vertune that's a huge help you give us here, really interessted !

    how many workstation do you have for your farm ?
     
  5. alpha007

    alpha007 Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    i can provide list of plugins i have via PM
     
  6. Andy47

    Andy47 Well-Known Member
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    562
    I think that should answer your question odoss. Not exactly a farm, just a powerful workstation

    alpha007 is the one with the farm
     
    #26 Andy47, Jan 27, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 27, 2013
  7. Vertune

    Vertune New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now I work at home. And how this will develop remains to be seen.
     
  8. odoss

    odoss Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh , i tought he has more than one of this workstation since we talk about farm here, but anyway it's a nice effort from him !
     
  9. agent_boris

    agent_boris New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have to disagree. My Tesla + GTX setup is production quality and is incredibly faster than the i7 alone- but 90% of plugins do not use GPU (multiscatter, autograss, hair), so I have to be careful if I am building a scene for a client who wants a fast render.
     
  10. Vertune

    Vertune New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Compare CPU and GPU rendering simply numerically for longer, not faster. More precisely, it is possible to compare the speed of the CPU and GPU on Unbiased renderer. But it's just as stupid as compared to plowed fields are the same in power tractor and sports car, just by the fact that that and that to 300 horsepower and with both wheels.

    Only how appropriate, can be compared Unbiased GPU rendering and Biased CPU rendering. However, this comparison can only be subjective, as time Unbiased rendering - infinity.

    What does a subjective comparison?

    And that means is that you can compare the time to create a visually indistinguishable images taken Unbiased and Biased engines. That is, you need to take a particular scene and render it Biased engine using CPU. Then, run the same scene on a miscalculation Unbiased renderer on and wait until the GPU, visual image quality will not be comparable to the Biased renderer. And then, to compare the time taken to calculate.

    And here it will start to show "features» Unbiased engine. The first of these is the fact that to achieve as clean (not noisy) images without interpolation, which is actively used for Biased rendering on Unbiased engine "little blood" will not work. We'll have to wait long to complement the graphics frame buffer color information to the complete lack of visual black and gray grains. The second "surprise" is that the engine has Unbiased technological limitations and its possibilities are much more modest than the Biased renderer.
     
  11. alpha007

    alpha007 Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    question

    does adding Tesla with Entry level quadro card like quadro 600 will boost the viewport performanance ?
    or tesla's are just for CUDA/GPU Rendering ?
     
  12. Vertune

    Vertune New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    I better instead Tesla,'ll take Intel ® Xeon ® Processor E5-2687W (20M Cache, 3.10 GHz, 8.00 GT / s Intel ® QPI). But it is in the future :)
    Code:
    You need to login or register to view this content.
     
    #32 Vertune, Jan 28, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 28, 2013
  13. Vertune

    Vertune New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. Tesla's are just for CUDA/GPU Rendering
     
  14. alpha007

    alpha007 Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Intel ® Xeon ® Processor E5-2687W, is indeed a very good processor
    Thanks Vertune, for the fast reply
     
  15. marketos

    marketos Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well i had once told to esanti about it (not exactly the same way) but not with much luck. But we could make a panel for you to have a dashboard withh all the jobs that are going to be on quee and also to give a list of prices also you can implement many payment ways so we to pay you automatic and much much easier. If anybody agrees i can halp to make this project on
     
  16. arnold

    arnold New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    better wait and invest in a xeon-phi board. for paralel processing
    Code:
    You need to login or register to view this content.
     
  17. marketos

    marketos Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i would agree with arnold. nvidias professional graphics cards and gpu computing cards are a litle bit outdated i believe that sth new is going to be much much better and it has the price of a tesla
     
  18. Vertune

    Vertune New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    possible for more
     
  19. marketos

    marketos Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    so we have one that agrees anybody else that finds it helpfull?
     
  20. gl0w

    gl0w New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    You advertise a one PC renderfarm?
    That doesnt make any sense.

    Regarding the GPU rendering,
    this is used for setting up lights and materials when noise it not an issue.

    For final rendering a biased CPU renderer like VRay is still a lot faster when you need a noise free image or flicker free animation.
    From what i have read from the chaos group guys its very hard to program a biased engine that runs on GPU.
    At the moment they just brute force the raytracing using all the simple but fast cores from the graphics card.

    Thats why you have this progressively refining image which gets you a fast overview how things are going to look,
    but which takes forever to get noise free.

    GPU rendering is firing rays like a machine gun-
    The biased CPU renderer is more like a sniper,
    who targets specific areas to get the most from the shot.

    Another big problem is that all the Polys and textures have to fit onto the GPU memory.
    Its too slow to swap from RAM to GPU memory.

    So at the moment you are stuck with simple scenes like a single car on a turntable.

    If you have a complex scene or some big detailed textures you cant render that on you GPU.
    You dont even get more GPU memory by getting more than one card,
    the complete scene has to be transfered from RAM to each cards memory.

    It will get interesting if nvidia produces some cheaper Tesla cards,
    they have more memory than the "game" cards, but they are still super expensive.